Lunenburg County Crime Prevention Board Now Official


(Original text may be viewed here.)

6 February 2002

COUNTY - The Lunenburg County Crime Prevention Board election of officers and directors was held in Bridgewater January 24.

This gives the board a full slate of officers and offers, not only variety of organizations involved, but also geographically a good representation of Lunenburg County.

The object of the board is to bring groups and organizations together in a common goal of co-operation and understanding in crime prevention, as stated in the following mission statement.

The Lunenburg Crime Prevention Board is an organization dedicated to bringing groups together to share information, expertise and ideas relating to crime prevention in Lunenburg County.

The support and encouragement by Lunenburg County RCMP's commanding officer, Staff Sgt. Frank Kingston, and his staff, Bridgewater Police Department, Municipal Warden Jack Wentzell and the councillors are encouraging to say the least.

The board will be having meetings in various communities in the upcoming year. Each group is encouraged to report on their successes and failures at the meetings. This brings ideas and suggestions to other groups attending and can be very informative.

Guest speakers will be chosen to keep the interest alive. Groups and organizations that are presently not represented on the board are encouraged to join and have input into this worthwhile community organization.

The board would like to thank RCMP Cst. Les Kakonyi RCMP for his skills in organizing this board and his support and dedication to the community. Cst. Kakonyi is transferring to Bridgetown where he takes up similar duties with the RCMP in February. Cst. Greg Smith will assume the duties of community policing for the RCMP Bridgewater area and the board welcomes him.

The board would also like to thank the Bridgewater Kinsmen for their support in providing a comfortable spot to hold the recent meetings.

The following officers were selected January 24: Wayne Rock, chairman, Lower Cornwall; Dale Williamson, first vice-president, New Ross Citizens on Patrol; Randy Whynacht, second vice-president, Lunenburg EMO; Sherry Veinot, secretary, Lunenburg County Ground Search and Rescue and RCMP Community Assistance Program; Yvon Michaud, treasurer, Maitland Crime Prevention Association.

Directors are as follows: Ivan Rodenhiser, Lunenburg County Crime Stoppers; Art Deveson, Cornwall Crime Prevention; George Cooper, Western Shore Citizens on Patrol; Reynolds Aulenbach, Voglers Cove and Area Neighbourhood Watch; Elroy Tanner, Blue Rocks Crime Prevention Association; Douglas Nodding, Blockhouse Crime Prevention Association; Obe Amos, Lunenburg Youth Action Committee; Gerald Veinotte, Central Nova ATV Club; Janet Tipert, New Germany Block Parents; Carolyn Bolivar-Getson, councillor, Municipality of Lunenburg.


100 High Street,
Suite 111
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia
B4V 1V9